The chronicle & tradition of the Salzburg Christmas market

“…what beautiful things you can buy from the old women.”

This song text from the end of the 15th century vividly describes the range of goods on offer at the “Tandlmarkt” in front of Salzburg Cathedral Square. It soon became a real pre-Christmas market, which was called the “Nikolaimarkt” in the 17th century. 14 days before and 14 days after Nikolai, the traders here offered dolls, sweets and bric-a-brac. It went down in history as one of the most famous pre-Christmas markets alongside those in Vienna, Paris, Amsterdam and Nuremberg.

In 1903 the Nikolaimarkt was included in the city's market regulations. It was limited to the cathedral arches and until it was discontinued in 1932 - as the chronicle records - "it was served not only by men, but also by women...".

1974 the new beginning.

The Christmas market has existed in its current form since 1974. Its unique atmosphere, the traditional huts and the specially designed

“Starry sky” lighting gives it its distinctive appearance. The people of Salzburg love it and almost a million visitors from all over the world walk in amazement through this sparkling Christmas world every year.

main menu

GDPR Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner